Students in grades 3 - 6 use GAfE (Google Apps for Education) as a huge part of their daily technology integration use in the classroom to enhance their learning.
Over the years, there are many file are created, but what happens when a student leaves? Can they keep the files they've created? Yes, files may be kept.
However, when a student leaves PRE, their account is suspended. This means they will no longer be able to access their Google account. If files want to be kept for future access, they need to be downloaded and they re-uploaded to another Google Drive account.
Here is the PDF that contains the instructions on how to Google Takeout. How long it takes to download all files depends on how many files are saved. Please note to check if all your files are downloaded as there are times some may have been missed.